Surgery Update

Another old email, posted here for the first time.  This was sent out on July 11, 2012.

Hi, all.

So, here’s a quick update since last time.  Surgery was scheduled for Sunday, July 15, but has been postponed due to the fact the surgeon is sitting shiva.  As of right now, we’re not sure when surgery will take place, but I’m hoping it will happen before the month is out.  Here’s why:

  1. The kids are both busy with summer activities.  Both return in late August, so having them under someone else’s care is ideal.
  2. Waiting until later in the summer means dealing with the bulk of my recovery at the beginning of the school year and in the midst of the holidays.
  3. I have great colleagues and friends at work who have taken on the bulk of my responsibilities.  Delaying surgery means more of a burden on them. (At the same time, the more I’m not around to do my work, the more someone might eventually say, “So what DID Alan do here, exactly?”)

“Aside from that, Mrs. Lincoln, how did you enjoy the show?”

So, I’m now in a kind of limbo state – not that of funny music and mostly-drunk guests at a Bar Mitzvah party – where I do some work every day, but I’m not stressing about a million different things.  So, for example, that my internet was down for a few hours didn’t stress me out as it usually does.  And that stresses me out, because I feel like I’m supposed to be worrying about stuff.

Anyway, that’s all for now.  You can be sure I will write again, as soon as I know what’s happening with surgery.  I hope that will be within a week or so.

Thanks!

About Alan

F---ing Cancer since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

