Today is better than yesterday.

It is said that women forget the pain of childbirth; if they didn’t, the human race would have died out ages ago. It’s ironic, then, that it’s my wife who has been reminding me for the past few days that, “This is what it was like last time.”

Now, that’s not to say that the days immediately following my first chemo visit this time ’round (As I’ve said to some: Chemo Kickoff 2013! We’ll get shirts and hats!) was a disaster or in any way painful. Rather, I simply forgot, for good reason, what it feels like for the first few days.

Allow me to expand.  Last Wednesday I went in for treatment and, as I explained earlier, immediately started to feel the side effects, specifically, the sensitivity to cold.  Yes, I was expecting the exhaustion, too, but I just didn’t remember its weightiness.  Imagine sleeping 12 hours, but it’s not enough.  I knew about the nausea, too, but, again, it caught be by surprise.

I’m happy to report though, that by Saturday night, I was feeling rested enough and of calm stomach to suggest that we go see a movie. And, it went well.  (A word to the wise: when you’re on nausea-inducing medication, it may be best not to see a 3-D movie about weightlessness in space.)  And, by last night, both side effects seemed quite under control.

Which brings us to today. I feel good.  I’m eating at the correct intervals, taking my meds when I’m supposed to, and looking forward to an abbreviated work week (well-timed!).  And, in two days we’ll begin observing the highly unusual holiday of Thanksgivukkah (Chanugiving?), which we hope to kick off with our first-ever family attendance at the Thanksgiving Day Parade. That will be followed by our family’s unusual tradition of partaking in two Thanksgiving dinners – the second Friday night (a subject for another post) – complete with tuna casserole leftovers (to be expounded upon in the same, aforementioned, forthcoming post).

In the meantime, I’m beginning to formulate in my mind how to best answer the ubiquitous – yet relevant – seasonal question: “What are you thankful for this year?”

How about you?

About Alan

F---ing Cancer since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today is better than yesterday.

  1. Baila says:

    M-m-m-m. Tuna Casserole. Is there anything else one needs to be thankful for?

  2. Cousin el says:

    Title suggestion for upcoming Thanksgiving post… “It’s all about the tuna casserole”. … Also it is supposed to be freeeezing on Thursday so bundle up for parade! Can’t wait to see you and partake
    Of aforementioned tuna casserole….and pb&j for some others!

Leave a Reply

