The Curative Properties of Ice Cream

ice cream

It may look like a simple bowl of ice cream…

Sunday was a tough day.  Yesterday, I underwent the third of the three chemo rounds that were most recently ordered and, understandably, I was a bit tense.  Hopefully, all is working well and my upcoming CT and tests at the end of the month will show all is clear.

Nonetheless, the anticipation of the forthcoming side effects (neuropathy, exhaustion, dry heaves and more) was a tad overwhelming.  So, how to best deal with it all?  Since any cold food or drink will not be an option for the next couple of weeks, I thought a nice bowl of ice cream, would do the trick.  And, it did.  Ben & Jerry’s Peanut Butter & Chocolate, along with whipped cream and some banana chips (no bananas at home) did wonders to turn me around.  Now, of course, ice cream is a non-starter for the couple of weeks…

So, how was chemo yesterday? A lot more efficient than the last time around! We actually were done at the same time we were called in last time!  That means, when we left at about 3:00 pm, we were just getting started last time.  So, all in all, I can’t complain about that.

Mild neuropathy kicked in almost immediately, but I was able to participate in a few work calls and do some emails until about 5:30 when – BAM – allofasudden my hands decided to stop working. Flexing my fingers became very difficult and even gently touching the keyboard was impossible.  So, I called it a day and, with some assistance, got changed and into bed.  Thank god for the tv!  It was apparently Sheen Family War Movie Night, and I watched the fun family favorites of Platoon and Apocalypse Now.

This morning I started the two-week cycle of pills that will close out this round of treatment.  I know the next few days will be tough, but I’m feeling good now, so before digging in to some work, I’m taking advantage of my working digits to post here.

I’m going to retro-post some old emails now, so don’t be confused if you get an additional notification or two of new posts.

Thanks for all your ongoing good wishes!

About Alan

F---ing Cancer since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Curative Properties of Ice Cream

  1. Anat says:

    awesome t-shirt!!!!

  2. Baila says:

    Did you bring the good for the tuna casserole? Now there’s some heartwarming food. (And you know, since the last time we ate it, there are less people to share with. Unless you want a GF casserole.). Anyhoo, if you have the stuff, I’m ready to make it….

  3. cant see the ice cream…. you smothered it with whipped cream… nice.

  4. Anita Fein says:

    Not to minimize what you are going thru, but that is some heck of a way to get away from being in the States and dealing with this “lovely” weather we are having here.

  5. Brian Joseph says:

    Love you so much, Auntie

  6. Susan Lindner says:

    thinking about you, buddy. I just signed an Israeli client today and would love to come over and give you a big hug. I’m hear to tell you to send the C-word packing and to let those CT scanners know who’s boss. Sending lots of love and a virtual pastrami on rye from Ben’s Kosher.

    -Susan

Leave a Reply

