Prepping for Surgery

Hello!

My surgery date is two days (oops!) weeks from tomorrow and I’ve been busy over the past few weeks getting ready.  How does one get ready for surgery, you ask?  Here’s a snippet of dialogue between my surgeon and me, from the last time we met:

“You should exercise and gain some weight before surgery.”

“OK, so lots of milkshakes?”

“Yes, and exercise.”

“OK, milkshakes, it is.”

Apparently, chemo has affected my hearing.

Oh, and wine.  I’ve been drinking wine.  That seems to help, as well.  As does lounging by

Rigorous prep for surgery.

Rigorous prep for surgery.

the pool.  I’m pleased to say that, over the past two weeks, we’ve visited some of the nicest pools in Israel and, in general, have been taking it easy.  Well, as easy as one can when, every once in a while, an air raid siren goes off and one must scramble into a safe room or other shelter.  (Since this blog isn’t about politics or the world’s fanatic obsession with Israel, I will refrain from commenting further.)

And now, with vacation time over, I suspect I’ll be spending the next two weeks just keeping busy.  I kind of feel like a woman apparently does right before giving birth: she nests.  And, that’s sort of what I’ve been doing.  I’ve been spending time organizing (or trying to) since I have the greatest coworkers in the world who are all covering for me, and the greatest employer in the world who gives me tremendous latitude.

[As an aside, not a moment goes by when I am not exceedingly grateful for my work situation; I know it is highly unusual.  According to Cancer and Careers, one of the first questions newly diagnosed cancer patients ask is whether or not they will be able to continue working.  (Kudos to my friend, Julie Jansen, who volunteers for the organization and first told me about them.)  Since my diagnosis in late 2011, I have not had to spend any precious energy on this problem, whether it was when I needed to slow down or when I was rolling full steam ahead.  And, my hope is to repay this kindness by returning to work as quickly as humanly possible, post-surgery.]

As you can (hopefully) tell, I’ve been feeling great; I attribute that mostly to the fact that I haven’t been having chemotherapy for the past few weeks and, for that, I am grateful.

And so, I will leave it here for now. Now, I think I will go clean up some old emails and “retro-post” to this blog.

Thanks!

About Alan

F---ing Cancer since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Prepping for Surgery

  1. Thanks for the mention Alan! Especially about Cancer and Careers!
    Tammy will have to write a post while you are recuperating from your surgery so your avid readers like me know how you are doing!

  2. helen mayer says:

    Alan, Hope to hear that the surgery is over and everything went well. By the way, I’d love to get a political post from you. I’m sure you will some humor there also. Stay well.

  3. Annie says:

    You’re just amazing.

Leave a Reply

