Two Month Reprieve!

Yesterday I had my first follow-up with the oncologist. After dropping my brother at the airport (He had come in for a week to visit.), we got to the hospital in time for out 11:15 appointment.  Only an hour’s wait or so and we got in to see her.

I was most concerned she’d say something crazy, like I have to go back on chemo.  Alas, no!  I get two months of vacation from any treatment, after which I will need to follow-up with a CT scan and blood work.  At that time, we will reconsider.

While she stopped short of using the word “remission,” I’m nonetheless quite pleased, in that I can enjoy the upcoming High Holiday season and start to get back to work without fear of the usual side effects of treatment.

I also saw the surgeon who, blessedly, didn’t spend a long time with me.  In this case, that’s a good thing.  After a quick review of my blood tests and a cursory glance at my open wounds, he asked to see me again in two weeks.

Things seem to be progressing nicely.  Carry on.

About Alan

F---ing Cancer since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Two Month Reprieve!

  1. Hanna says:

    Sounds great.!!. Let me know when to leave the light on for you. Enjoy your day!!!!

  2. So good! Enjoy the precious two months!

  3. helen says:

    Great news, Alan. Two months of vacation…that sounds very good.

  4. Susan Burstein says:

    Alan, Wishing you good health and good reports throughout the year. Shana Tova! Susan & Shaya

  5. Finally, I’m in! You know I wish you and Tammy continued recovery, strength and good health for a long time to come. Shana Tova!

  6. elanahope says:

    Hope this year brings you lots of good health, even without some of your vital organs……They’re all so overrated anyway…

  7. Adam says:

    So glad to hear the good news! Enjoy the reprieve.

    >

Leave a Reply

