Apparently, I have been drained.

Today was three weeks since my last surgical follow-up appointment.  The big questions to be answered were:

  1. Will my last drain come out, and
  2. Am I allowed to travel again?

Yesterday, the answers to those questions did not seem obvious, as I was dealing with more severe pain than usual due to the drain, and there was some blood present, as well.  I had called the surgeon yesterday to ask about the blood and he said that if it wasn’t flowing consistently, not to worry.

Today, he took one look at me and decided it was time for the drain to come out.  Now, for the uninitiated, removing a surgical drain from one’s lower abdomen isn’t necessarily painful; rather, it’s weird and uncomfortable.  The best way I can describe it is as if someone is pulling my “cojones” out through my throat.  I know it sounds gross, but it’s not.  It’s just weird.

OK, I lied; it’s a bit painful.

Here’s the cool news: assuming no infections in the next 10 days, I get to travel again – and we all know what that means…it’s time to get back to work!

At the same time, I’m also going to be participating in a study at Hadassah Hospital, using a treatment that’s been quite successful with melanoma.  They create a vaccine out of one’s cancer and try to trick the immune system into fighting it.  My first injection is next week and I am assured there are no major side effects, other than a localized reaction at the injection site.  Hopefully, the cancer will stay away because the alternative is chemotherapy…and we all know how much I love that.

So, bottom line, good news all around.

About Alan

F---ing Cancer since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Apparently, I have been drained.

  1. Hanna Fein says:

    Certainly is good news. Just let us know when you will be coming so that I can leave the “light on” for you. Looking forward to seeing you at this end.

  2. Susan Burstein says:

    We hope only good news will continue to follow. !

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Janine Savarese says:

    Great to hear good news! In my prayers and thoughts as always!

  4. Ilana & Avi Kohn says:

    wow, Alan, That’s such wonderful news!

    May you keep having better and better news and get all better soonest.

    Thanks so much for sharing,

    Ilana

  5. Lisa says:

    NEW YORK MISSES YOU!

  6. helen mayer says:

    Happy for the good news and happy that you can travel. Hope the parking was easy too! Love to Tammy.

Leave a Reply

