Funny Kind of Day

Today was busy! “Good busy,” at least.

Started with a blessedly late wake-up, due to the fact that my son didn’t have to be out of the house at 7:30.  Next came my ileostomy bag change. Now, sometimes, these changes can get, well… messy.  Not this time.  Boom zoom, bag was changed and I was laying down for the requisite 20 minutes with my hands over the seal, to make sure everything will stay where is supposed to stay for the next 72 hours, after which we will do it all over again.Shoulder 1

Then, a healthy breakfast of eggs fried in butter (Woo hoo! Fatten me up!) and out the door to the neighborhood nurse to check my healing wounds.  Wouldn’t you know it, she was so pleased with my progress!  And there I am, grinning ear to ear, like I actually DID anything other than change a bandage twice daily. Then, she looked at my shoulders and said, “You’re asymmetrical.”  Tell me something I don’t know.  We discussed what to do about it and it seems physical therapy is needed.

shoulder2Out the clinic door and off to my private Pilates class.  Good news: I still know how to breathe.  My instructor was equally pleased with my breathing progress, and we actually moved on to some basic stretching and flexing.  I must admit, I am weak, but Liad is confident I will get back to my pre-surgical-Mr. Olympia physique. She also observed my shoulders, pronounced me asymmetrical and suggested I go for physical therapy.

Then home to change and off to the hospital for a follow up with the surgeon on the second series of injections for the vaccine study in which I’m participating. Great parking. Check in at his clinic and I ask how long the wait will be, as my 1:45 appointment is right up against my 2:00 appointment in the oncology day care unit where I have to get my shots.  And, no, they are not on the same general area. So the nurse there suggests I go take care of that and come back as the surgeon has plenty of people to see so I have nothing to worry about.

Off to get the injections which, all told,  took about 30 minutes, including flirting with the nurses.  Hurt like crazy. The shots, not the flirting.

Back to surgery clinic where we cooled our jets for a while. So Tammy took the opportunity to call to make a physical therapy appointment for my asymmetrical shoulders.  After a while on the phone, she gets to someone who asks if we have a referral from our family doctor.  Now, Tammy had called the doc, and he said to first make the appointment and then get the referral.  Alas, the appointment-maker wanted to know what the referral says and Tammy told her what it WILL say – that I have shoulder pain.  Not good enough.  So Tammy calls the doc and he said to swing by later and he’ll have the referral ready.

We were then called in by a very happy-looking surgeon.  So, I asked him how he’s doing.

“Great,” he said.

“The only time you look this happy is when you talk about leaving this hospital.”

“Uh huh.”

“Are you leaving?”

“Well, yes.”

“When?”

“I’m not sure. I need to go speak to the people in Administration later.”

“Where are you going?”

“I can’t tell you as it’s not finalized yet.”

So, the bottom line is the guy is leaving the hospital after being there for five minutes. But, I have his contact information and he assured me he’d be happy to continue following up with me at his new place.

Then, I asked him about my shoulders and, oddly, he didn’t really have much to say.

Funny people, those surgeons.

Before heading home, we grabbed a bite to eat and then a milkshake (because I can), and set out for the family doc.  True to his word, he prepared the referral for us.  Know what it said? I have shoulder pain.

About Alan

F---ing Cancer since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Funny Kind of Day

  1. Ilana & Avi Kohn says:

    funny kind of day for a funny kind of guy!

  2. Hanna Fein says:

    Glad you had such a busy and accomplished day. It sounds that all is going well (except for your shoulder pain, of course) So, did you finally get your PT appointment?

  3. Avigail Buiumsohn says:

    Sending you and Tammy my best wishes, thinking of you!
    Shabbat Shalom! Avigail

  4. helen says:

    Alan, I don’t know how you can make such a serious subject so much fun to read. It sounds like you have really learned how to navigate the healthcare system. Hope to continue to hear good news.

Leave a Reply

