Cancer Fakers

Here’s a post from someone I follow. What she writes is rather disturbing. Frankly, I don’t get it. I guess it’s a form of Munchausen.

anotheronewiththecancer

I’ll never understand them. I came to the internet/world of social media, specifically starting on Tumblr, to connect with others who have my cranky views on cancer. Very early on I began interacting with someone who wound up being exposed as a fake. I was not particularly hurt by the incident, just kind of saddened.

Luckily, I did not interact with this most recent faker. I followed her for a time, but quit because her numerous inspirational posts were just not for me. So I am fortunate to not have the very hurt feelings I am seeing expressed by other cancer patients on Tumblr.

As my name, Cancer Curmudgeon, suggests, I am a cranky, socially awkward type who does not easily make friends—even on the interwebs. So the few I have met and love and call “friend”—both in CancerLand and in other areas in the wonderfully weird world of online…

View original post 311 more words

About Alan

F---ing Cancer since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cancer Fakers

  1. Deborah says:

    Really sad that there are people out there doing this. Your need for connection should not have to include determining if people are real or fake! I’m still trying to recover from yesterday’s news about blood being drawn before you signed the consent form!!!

    • Alan says:

      Agreed.

      Re the blood being drawn prior to signing the consent: I really didn’t care. It was two vials of blood and absolutely zero downside. It WAS, however, quite funny…

  2. Todd Kesselman says:

    Please let me know if you are faking so I can stop being nice to you. As you know, I’m not a people person. Where are you now? I’m in US next Tuesday through following Monday if you are in the schwarma zone.

  3. Thanks for the re-post, honored!

Leave a Reply

