50 Weeks

August 11 will mark one year since my last HIPEC surgery, this time, at the hand of Professor Aviram Nissan, who is currently heading the Department of Surgical Oncology at Sheba Medical Center.

Avi Nisan

Prof. Avi Nissan – another one of my pit crew members.

I had the opportunity to meet with Avi again today, as he continues to follow my case and monitor my progress.  While there’s nothing we need to be doing from a surgical perspective, it was worth the two-hour wait to spend a few minutes catching up.  (As I’ve said in the past: I’ve been the guy who was pushed to the head of the line so, if I need to wait to see a world-class surgeon, I’m happy to do so.)

Avi falls into the burgeoning category of “People to whom I owe my Life.”  Almost one year ago, he painstakingly removed many tumors from my body before administering the HIPEC.  Unlike other surgeons, he was on his feet in the OR the whole time, from initial incision to final suture.  And, when non-stop internal bleeding had me back in the OR in less than 24 hours, he was there to fix it.  From what I remember (at least what was explained to me) it was a two-hour procedure in which the first 30 minutes were spent stopping the bleeding and the remaining 90 minutes were spent with Avi standing over me, carefully watching to make sure there were no leaks.

Looking forward to seeing him again in three months.

About Alan

F---ing Cancer since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 50 Weeks

  1. Ari / Wesley Hills says:

    A good mechanic is hard to find. Looks like you found one.

  2. Avigail Buiumsohn says:

    Baruch Hashem you were put in Avi’s hands, sounds like he is a real bracha! Don’t know many people who are comfortable calling their surgeon by their first name, says a lot about both of you!
    B’sorot tovot !
    Avigail

  3. mayerfertig says:

    Always good to know you’re not leaking …
    If nothing else, who wants to leave a mess on the driveway?

  4. Beth davide says:

    Alan,
    I’m glad you have a surgeon that you can trust your life with!! Always thinking of you and praying for complete good health!! Much love always !

  5. I’m stumped. I can’t think of anything witty to stay, even though I’ve tried for a couple of hours (okay, minutes) now. So carry on and keep posting pictures.

  6. Ilana & Avi Kohn says:

    wow. what a special doctor. Avi, too, is lucky to have an amazing neurosurgeon who has been wonderful. SHabbat Shalom, Ilana

  7. lisa says:

    may you have the pleasure of sitting in his waiting room – next time – for hours and hours and hours –
    shavua tov – lisa

Leave a Reply

