It really IS all about the parking.

Here we are, several treatments, scans, tests and appointments later and, unfortunately, the cancer continues to grow.  Both the CT and tumor markers show increased cancer activity.  All tumors seen in the previous two scans have increased in size. There are metastases in and around the liver, as well as throughout the abdominal area, on the diaphragm and on the tail of the pancreas. I also have enlarged lymph nodes in my chest.

I am happy to report there is good news: my lungs, heart and pelvis are all OK.

Also, I’m feeling OK, in general.

And, I don’t have to continue with the previous regimen of chemotherapy.

With Nurse Tzippy at my most-recent treatment.

The oncologist presented two options and a recommendation. One option is mitomycin, which is a chemotherapy administered through IV. The other option, and the one she recommends, is called Regorafenib-Stivarga. It is administered in tablet form, daily for three weeks, with the fourth week off.  The plan is to take it for two months and see how well it works for me.

So, I’ve started on the new drug and, I’m happy to report, I seem to be tolerating it well.  My appetite seems to have not been impacted, and I continue to hover around 66.6 kilograms (147 lbs).  As you can see, I’ve buzzed my hair, as it was thinning (age? chemo? who knows!); we have yet to see what the impact of the new drug will be in that department.

More good news is that my doc gave me the OK to travel if I’m feeling up to it, and I am!  So, tomorrow, I plan to jet off for a few days of work, fun and adulation from the masses.  I’ve been home since August and, quite frankly, some of the people I live with want me out for a bit.

Can't tell if she likes this or not...

Can’t tell if she likes this or not…

I don’t take it personally; I’m a lover not a hater.

There’s lots of good stuff on the horizon, once I get back home, including Thanksgiving (not a big deal here), Hanukkah (a pretty big deal here), a planned visit from my aunt and uncle (a pretty big deal with the kids) and Jerry Seinfeld’s first performance here (a HUGE deal).

Other than that, I just continue to do what I do, work when I can and stay out of the way of others.

I’ll end with a funny story: My daughter drove to Hadassah hospital to visit a friend. She called to tell me that she finally got there and that, after driving in and out of the hospital grounds three times, she finally succeeded in parking. She told me, “Daddy, it really IS all about the parking!”

Such pride.

About Alan

F---ing Cancer since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to It really IS all about the parking.

  1. Tammy Silva says:

    Dear Alan,
    All I can say is that you are truly amazing !!!
    We wish you a speedy recovery.
    Hope you have a successful trip to the states.
    Lots of love
    Tammy and Chaim

  2. rosality says:

    You should have good health and naches and good parking.  Rosally

  3. Susan Burstein says:

    Alan, we think of you always. Love the pictures and you never cease to amaze us with your sense of humor, intelligence and superb style of writing. Yey for Carly !!! Safe travels Susan & Shaya

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Baila says:

    Do you kiss all the nurses, or is Nurse Tzippy your only victim?

  5. Ilana & Avi Kohn says:

    Here’s hoping and praying for you and may your amazing outlook keep helping you stay alive and kicking

  6. Beth and family says:

    Alan,
    I always admire your positivity!! That is the key to health and happiness! My heart breaks that you have to deal with this and the bad parking!!! I pray and think of you and the family everyday!! Even though we really don’t get to see much of each other, I have many fond memories that I cherish!! I hope this new medication does the trick!! Xoxo
    Beth and family

  7. thesmallc says:

    I am happy about the good news. I am sorry about the new developments. Wishing you good luck with the new treatments — hoping for no side effects. Keeping my fingers (and toes) crossed that these drugs work for you. Always sending positive thoughts your way.

    I hope you enjoy the time off.

  8. Mort says:

    Bad news sucks big time, but, as you say, there is some good news, and on top of all that you look F A B U L O U S. I would shave my head in solidarity with you if I had any hair. As it is, I will shave my legs. Love the atteetude! F**k the cancer!!! You are amazing and the best on so many levels.

  9. Steven says:

    Dear Alan,

    Thank you for the update – we are sad about the bad news, and optimistic about the good news and the new treatment option, which is, by the way the longest, weirdest medicine name I have ever heard.

    In your honor, I played around with the name, and came up with an anagram that represents your courage and fearlessness:

    Regorafenib-Stivarga = “I, fear? Rats! Going brave!”

    Are you going to see Jerry Seinfeld???

    Love,
    Steven & Shira

Leave a Reply

