Feeling pretty good…

I’m halfway through the second week of this month’s cycle of TAS-102 and I’m feeling pretty good.  My sleep seems to be regulated, with only occasional pharmaceutical help.  My pain is much more under control, albeit with continued use of painkillers, but at a much lower frequency.  I’ll find out in two weeks if the TAS 102 is doing anything.

This is particularly fortuitous because we are able to enjoy a week’s visit from Tammy’s parents.  Yesterday, we spent some time in Jerusalem at the new Friends of Zion museum, dedicated to stories of non-Jews who were instrumental in the establishment of the modern State of Israel. It was amazing to hear some of the stories, told through innovative, interactive exhibits.

After that, we had the opportunity to do that which I’ve written about before: drive right into the plaza of the Western Wall and park our car. Believe me, this is a big deal.  The last time we did this, I did not yet have a permanent handicap parking tag, so special permission was required. This time, we simply drove up to the gate and asked to be let in. Luckily, it wasn’t too crowded.  Very cool.  I’ve got to remember to take advantage of that cancer perk some more!

Today, we visited the Rishon LeZion museum, which tells the story of the settlement founded in 1882 (today a major city), and the founders’ struggle to find water and work the land, even though none of the 17 founding families knew a lick about farming. The well that finally produced water was approximately 17 stories deep, and dug by hand.

Talk about being positive in the face of adversity…

About Alan

F---ing Cancer since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Feeling pretty good…

  1. jaya says:

    I guess it was well done?

  2. Brian says:

    So glad to hear you are more comfortable Luv u

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Steven says:

    Great update – nice to hear about fun and educational outings.
    Those Rishon Letzion people have nothing on you!

  4. Lori says:

    Why be glad that it wasn’t crowded when you were snagging your “VIP” parking? It’s even cooler if you’re awarded a spot despite massive crowds!! Better go back soon on a busier day and get your money’s worth :).
    Glad to read your update, Alan.

  5. I hope you feel good through all the chemotherapy and treatments! How surprising to read you in Israel. I work for an Israeli company and I have been there a few times. I like the place. It wasn’t always like that. I learnt to like the food, which wasn’t immediate, and I learnt that the people isn’t just good people but great people! I have great colleagues there that help me with my activities, and when I fell sick and had to get rid of a treacherous colon, my company has been supporting me in an unbelievable way. For me it’s now a very personal thing and I want to give back to them and the company. I had little chemo while I was in radiation treatment, and it was pills. The pills transform into the same oxaliplatin that they pump into the vein. For me it was rather mild. Get well, and enjoy a good serving of humus and a tea with mint. That will make me jealous. My best wishes to you during your treatment and recovery!!

Leave a Reply

