Getting Busy

Hello!

Last week I had my monthly follow up with the oncologist.  Unfortunately, my tumor markers have risen significantly and the results from my CT and ultrasound, both taken when I was recently in the hospital due to my blocked ureter/kidney, show tumor growth in my liver, pancreas tail and peritoneum…all the problem areas we have known about and have been tracking for some time now.

All this taken together strongly suggests the TAS is at best only partially helpful, that is, if it is doing anything at all, it is likely slowing the cancer’s growth to a small extent.

The next treatment option is Mitomycin C, a more “traditional” chemo that I’ve tried once before.  (I had one treatment before starting the TAS-102.)  My oncologist is willing to put me on it, if I want. But I don’t, just yet, as I don’t want to deal with the side effects at this time.

The good news is that I continue to feel relatively OK.  I have been having some increased pain, but I have the meds to deal with that.

The good doctor also called a colleague of hers at Tel Hashomer hospital to see if they have any studies, or there are any others going on here in Israel about which I should know. Not at this time…

Taking all this into account, we’ve made the decision that I will continue with TAS-102 for another cycle and, assuming my symptoms don’t get any worse, we will continue with it.  If things do get worse, I will immediately stop the TAS and we will reevaluate.

So right now the focus is on having a great High Holy Day season (almost here!), focusing on that which I enjoy – family, friends, work – and, as always, managing my symptoms.

Speaking of enjoying myself, my aunt and uncle just arrived for a week’s visit and we spent this past Shabbat in Jerusalem at a dear friend’s Bar Mitzvah.  What an amazing way to counteract my Thursday appointment!

The arrival of my aunt and uncle also marks the start of visiting season that will include visits from my in-laws and both my siblings!  It will be busy over the coming six weeks, but it will be a “good” busy.  I’m really looking forward to it!

About Alan

F---ing Cancer since 2011.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Getting Busy

  1. Cheryl Munk says:

    Been thinking about you. Thanks for continuing to keep me updated. I hope you enjoy the visiting season with your family! That’s a nice thing to look forward to.

    Kol Tuv, Cheryl

  2. Chaim says:

    Enjoy your visitors. It was nice getting together last week. Shana tova. Chaim and Tammy

  3. Raylea Pemstein says:

    Alan,
    Your attitude never ceases to amaze! Butch and I are sending much love to you, Tammy and your family, and wishing you all a positive, peaceful “Shana Tova.” (and give hugs and kisses to Auntie Carol and Uncle Brian from us, too).
    Love,
    Raylea

  4. Debbie Schwebel-Guchs says:

    Alan, your positive outlook is such an inspiration. Keep it up. I’m sure that’s part of the reason for it’s slow progress.
    Shana Tova, כתיבה וחתימה טובה.
    May this year bring you miracles of good health and enjoyment with your family.

Leave a comment